Movies & TV Shows

Daredevil & The Defenders Complete Timeline: What Order To Watch

The Marvel shows originally made for Netflix are now available on Disney+. Here’s the full watch order for The Defenders shows and The Punisher.

The Marvel TV series originally made for Netflix by Marvel Studios are now available to watch on Disney+, but it can be hard to know The Defenders watch order. Along with The Defenders and the related shows, Agents of SHIELD is also available in its entirety on Disney+. However, this series takes place in a different continuity than the Netflix Marvel shows. With Daredevil season 4 officially coming to the MCU in 2024, it’s especially important to know the Netflix Marvels shows’ order.


The Defenders was originally a project by Marvel Television created as Netflix Originals. The characters of Daredevil (Charlie Cox), Jessica Jones (Krysten Ritter), Luke Cage (Mike Colter), and Iron Fist (Finn Jones) all received their own series to set up the characters before coming together in their entirety for the first time in The Defenders. The universe also introduced Punisher (Jon Bernthal) who eventually received his own series as well. The shows detail different street-level heroes working in New York in the wake of “The Incident,” the term used to describe the events of The Avengers when New York saw rampant devastation.

Related: Every Upcoming Marvel Cinematic Universe Movie & TV Show In Development

The Marvel Netflix shows order ended when all of them were canceled in 2019. All the actors involved were not allowed to appear in a non-Netflix Marvel production for two years after the cancellation. While the shows were not considered canon for a long time, 2021 and the introduction of the multiverse within the Marvel Cinematic Universe made all that change. Hawkeye saw a return appearance of Vincent D’Onofrio as Wilson Fisk, a.k.a. Kingpin, while Spider-Man: No Way Home reintroduced Charlie Cox as Daredevil. And at ComicCon 2022, Marvel announced that a Daredevil season 4 would continue Cox’s storyline within the MCU. Because of this, now is the perfect time to catch up with the series or rewatch them for a refresher. Here is the best Defenders watch order, including Jon Bernthal’s The Punisher.

Netflix’s The Defenders Watch Order

The above is the Marvel Netflix shows order as originally released. While it might seem tempting to watch them out of order, binge the seasons of a particular character, or skip a character, this will have a negative impact on the viewing experience. Each of the shows includes references to the other series and one character appears in all but one of the shows. Jessica Jones season 1 introduces Luke Cage, while Daredevil season 2 provides The Punisher’s story. Some seasons are more easily watched independently than others, but this order is undoubtedly the best Defenders watch order.

It is worth noting that The Defenders and the related shows are not quite as light-hearted as some other entries into the MCU. Jessica Jones, in particular, can hit some viewers particularly hard as it deals with trauma in a visceral way. Disney is acknowledging this and the introduction of the Netflix Marvel shows to Disney+ has led the platform to introduce new changes to provide age rating advisories for the series.

Will Daredevil season 4 include The Defenders?

While the Marvel Television Netflix series relocation to Disney+ hints at the potential for more appearances from the rest of The Defenders gang in the upcoming MCU movies and TV shows, it’s only Daredevil that’s been renewed for a new season so far. It’s still unknown whether Daredevil season 4 will be a direct continuation or a soft reboot of the Charlie Cox character’s original storyline, so it’s also hard to guess whether his Netflix co-stars can logically make an appearance. When asked about the shows in 2021, Kevin Feige said “never say never” in response to being asked about the possibility of reviving The Defenders series. Along with this positive sign, Disney is also uploading the original Jessica Jones series under the title A.K.A. Jessica Jones, which hints that a new series or season could be coming, as with Daredevil: Born Again.

Key Release Dates

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.